image Yam with bush buck sauce

wpid-yammmmmm.jpg

As a kid, bush buck (Utazi leaf) was a NO! for me. Well, I still ate them because they were must eat at home. Mum said they are highly medicinal.

Surprisingly, over the years, I didn’t wait for mum to make it and force us to eat, I began making it and enjoying it. In fact, I became a fan of bush buck when I stumbled on it’s health benefits. I will share a few with you.

It is used in the treatment of cough, dysentery, intestinal worms, malaria, and controlling weight gain in lactating women.

Mum always made this recipe without a name tag. But I call it bush buck sauce. It is mostly served with yam (boiled, cooked, roasted). Today, I am excited to share it with you. One interesting thing about this recipe is that, it is so easy to make and the sauce does not require any cooking. HEALTHY SAUCE!

INGREDIENTS
Yam/Potato
Bush buck (Utazi leaf in Igbo, arokeke in Yoruba)
Onions
Vegetable oil for frying
Olive oil/Vegetable oil
Fresh pepper
Salt

PROCEDURE
Peel, wash and fry the Yam and set aside. You may add a pinch of salt to the yams before frying. Alternatively, you may cook them. In this recipe, I fried them, but in a free cholesterol Vegetable oil.
Wash your bush buck leaves and fresh pepper and grind coarsely. Put this in a bowl and add your finely chopped onions. Add a pinch of salt.
Get your Olive oil or vegetable oil (little quantity) and warm it up a bit. Then, pour the warmed up oil into the bowl of your grinded bush buck leaves and stir evenly.
Yay! Your bush buck sauce is ready. Dish out and serve with the yam..

4 comments

Leave a comment